Fantastic four win England Sevens call-up for Commonwealth Games


Four former Hartpury students have been named in the England Women’s squad for the inaugural women’s rugby sevens tournament at the Commonwealth Games in Australia.

Head coach James Bailey has selected captain Abigail Brown (pictured), Natasha Hunt, Alex Matthews and Megan Jones among his 12 players for the competition down under, which runs from 13-15 April.

England have been drawn in Pool B alongside Australia, Fiji and Wales, with the matches to be played at the Robina Stadium in Queensland. Pool A, the other group, features New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and Kenya.

Bailey said: “As a new squad, the players and management have worked tremendously hard to bring this squad together and also transition the experienced 15s players back to sevens within in a short time frame.

“We have a lot of incredibly talented, world class players in this side.

“We have really benefited and developed a lot from competing on the World Series and at numerous invitational tournaments, against some of the best teams in the world, in order to be ready for this tournament.

“We have a lot of incredibly talented, world-class players in this side who are willing to work exceptionally hard for each other, and it’s that level of dedication and commitment that we’re hoping will bring success at the Games.”

The Commonwealth Games starts on 4 April and runs until 15 April.

Share this article