Hartpury College students retain Gloucestershire netball crown


Hartpury College students have won the Gloucestershire Schools Netball Tournament for the 11th time in the past 12 years.

Hartpury, who hardly conceded any points in their six group games, beat Sir Thomas Rich’s School 20-8 in the semi-finals and Wycliffe School 21-8 in the final.

All the players in the squad study either A-levels or one of the following Level 3 Extended Diplomas - Sport (Physical Education and Coaching); Sport and Exercise Science; Equine Management.

As winners of the tournament at Cheltenham Ladies College, Hartpury will now progress to the Netball South West regional round of the National Schools Tournament in January.

Hartpury students have failed to win the Gloucestershire Schools Netball Tournament only once since 2008, finishing runners-up in 2011.

Holly Duerden, Netball Academy Manager, said: “The girls were outstanding at the tournament despite losing our captain Ehlana Drury to injury and vice-captain Nia Evans to international duties with Wales.

“The young squad all stepped up together and took each game in their stride.

“Qualifying for the Regionals for so many years now brings the extra added pressure each year to succeed, but the team dealt with it well and proved exactly why they deserved to bring home the trophy.

“We are very excited and proud to be representing Gloucestershire at the Regionals in January and hope we can do Gloucestershire proud by qualifying for Nationals.”

Hartpury has successful associations with Superleague netball clubs Severn Stars and Team Bath, Premier League clubs Premier Romans and Hucclecote, as well as Netball South West and the Welsh Netball Association.

A number of Hartpury coaches and students have represented Severn Stars, including England Futures player and Hartpury University netball team head coach Paige Reed.

Students at Hartpury University have access to a range of world-class sports facilities on its 360-hectare campus, including its new £8.8 million Sports Academy featuring netball courts, a biomechanics laboratory, and a human performance laboratory.

Hartpury College squad: Violet Little-Wollage, Katie Pauling, Lily Jones, Olivia Wilson, Millie Lealan, Effie Robinson, Emily Brooks, Natasha Englefield, Jasmine Genge, Ellie Gabriel, Niamh Driscoll.

Share this article