28 Apr 2021

Esmee Matthijsse, BSc Equine Science with Therapy student

“The facilities and commercial therapy centres on site are superb.”

Hi, I’m Esmee and I’m an international student from the Netherlands. I’m about to finish my second year of BSc (Hons) Equine Science with Therapy (now BSc Equine Performance and Rehabilitation) at Hartpury University.

I did a veterinary nursing degree before enrolling at Hartpury, but am very happy I decided to do another degree to further develop my skills.

Why I love Hartpury

I got a really special feeling when I arrived at Hartpury. I loved the buildings, the surroundings and the natural environment in which the campus is set, and the facilities are amazing!

I chose to enrol on BSc (Hons) Equine Science with Therapy because I was very interested in the therapy side of treating horses.

The facilities at Hartpury for therapy for canine and equine, which include a canine spa, the equine treadmill and the equine hydro treadmill, are superb.

I love the practical laboratory sessions and all the modules on the course, especially Diseases and Disorders and Diagnostics and Therapy, have been extremely informative. We learn everything we need to know about diseases, how to recognise them and how to treat them.

Furthermore, I enjoyed the Introduction to Hydrotherapy lessons, in which we learn about the aspects of water and how it helps the animal rehabilitate.

I also find the talks from industry professionals really useful. We hear about their experience in the field, which means we’re up to date with current practices.

I’ve made lots of new friends

As an international student from the Netherlands, I didn’t know anyone in England before arriving at Hartpury, so I’m very happy that I moved into the on-site accommodation.

Living on campus gave me the opportunity to meet so many new people. Everyone was so welcoming and helped me settle in.

I made a lot of new friends, with whom I found a house to live in off campus for my second year. I also spend time with lots of other international students. We all made each other feel welcomed and helped each other out if we faced something we didn’t know about.

My typical day at university

During the pandemic, a typical day at university has been different from last year.

I’m able to go to campus two days a week to get some face-to-face lectures and practical sessions. I get tested before I go to my classroom to make sure everyone stays healthy.

In between lectures I like to go for a walk around campus, or study in the library or study lounge.

At the weekends, I enjoy horse riding, watching sport on campus and meeting up with friends.

Lots of clubs to join

There are a lot of clubs and societies at Hartpury to join. I’m a member of the Equestrian Club, through which I have met lots of new friends.

I also love making a difference to student life as a student representative of my course, which has enabled me to get the best out of my time at Hartpury.

My future

I would love to find a practice that treats both equine and small animal and has a therapy centre too.

I’m very interested in the therapy side of treating animals and, thanks to Hartpury, horses will always remain a part of my life.

Written By
Esmee Matthijsse
Female student with laptop
Could you be the next Hartpury blogger?
We'd love for you to share your Hartpury experience in a blog, vlog or podcast! If you're passionate about Hartpury and feeling creative, get in touch with the Hartpury marketing team by emailing marketing@hartpury.ac.uk
Get in touch